Photo Friday: Empire State

Photography is a wonderful activity for the “slow”. When I find myself wandering around with a camera (which is most of the time), I tend to look up and around more than usual, seeking those things which are just out of the ordinary. Senses are heightened, connections are made.

It is in that spirit that I start this Photo Friday feature. I hope you’ll be inspired to share your own photos and observations — any time!

Walking in New York City’s plant district last summer, I was very amused to come upon this extreme juxtaposition of the leafy and the urban. Of course the phrase, “It’s a jungle out there” sprang to mind. I spent a whole free weekend walking, photographing, experiencing and seeing that wonderful city. It gave me complete joy.

Have you seen and photographed something unusual, whimsical, beautiful, or otherwise interesting in your travels? Has anything surprised you or caused you to pause? Or have you simply experienced a small, lovely moment that you wanted to capture? If so, I hope you’ll share with us by leaving a comment with a link to your photo. I look forward to seeing it!

Photo by Susan Sachs Lipman

4 responses to “Photo Friday: Empire State

  1. Have you seen this article? If not, you’ll surely find it interesting, I think!
    http://www.slate.com/id/2279659/

  2. Hi Kath! I thought of Kong, too!

    Hi Alice! Thank you for sending me to that article on Slow Photography. It’s perfect. Photography, like anything, can be rushed. Slow Photography is about taking time, truly seeing, and having an experience — as the article puts it so well.

    I hope you’ll both be back to visit again soon.

  3. Yes, i thought that might appeal to you. I really enjoyed the way that approach was described. I try to do that in my own photography, mostly by sticking with analog, which helps, but i bet a person could do it with digital too. Will def. stop by again. http://www.flickr.com/photos/aliceblue/

Leave a Reply

